Support

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet:

24h / 365days

We offer support for our customers

Mon - Fri 8:00am - 5:00pm (GMT +1)

Get in touch

Cybersteel Inc.
376-293 City Road, Suite 600
San Francisco, CA 94102

Have any questions?
+44 1234 567 890

Drop us a line
info@yourdomain.com

About us

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit.

Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec.

PROJECT

Intrusion detection via multi-dimensional analysis of security data streams

The processes employed by modern businesses, and consequently their economic success, increasingly hinge upon IT-systems, which in turn are increasingly hard to defend against security risks. On the one hand high interconnectivity grants suppliers with the opportunity to implement more efficient process chains, on the other it introduces complex dependencies and new attack vectors. Meanwhile, the last decade has seen the rise of highly organized, professional, financially motivated attackers, threatening businesses with a multitude of criminal methods.

Furthermore, the growing integration of classic information technology (IT) and operational technology (OT) creates risks of its own. These call for an increased emphasis on logging and monitoring, in addition to classic methods like firewalls and malware protection, as businesses need to assume that

1. adversaries will bypass perimeter protection and that

2. deployed malware may not be detected.

Any intrusion can only be detected through unusual behaviour of systems or applications, as well as anomalous network communication. Detecting these anomalies usually requires the aggregation of data stemming from different systems in a centralized system for correlation and analysis. This gives rise to new challenges due to the large volume of data involved. Furthermore, the development of algorithms performing the analysis is hindered by the poor availability of concurrent annotated datasets required to train and evaluate them.

In today’s IT landscape multiple tools are already being used to detect attacks, weaknesses and undesired behaviour in computer systems and networks. Signature-based methods search for the occurrence of predefined negative behaviour. Anomaly-based methods, however, build a model of normal behaviour in order to find irregularities in new data. These irregularities tend to correspond to unwanted behaviour. The structure of the data, like attributes, metrics and aggregations, from which this model is built, needs to be defined a priori. This is problematic, since it limits the analysis to finding only the anomalies that are visible in that exact structure, while missing others.

This is why the objective of this project is to develop advanced concepts for automatic aggregation and analysis of network data related to information security. In addition to covering all possible data structures to detect a variety of anomalies, automatic aggregation directly yields the view of the data that best displays anomalies. As the aggregations are generated automatically, the configuration of the system is simplified.

One of the major concerns when constructing these concepts will be efficiency, since regular hardware needs to be sufficient for supporting the resulting system. Horizontal scalability will enable the system to grow alongside an expanding IT infrastructure. Another concern is the presentation of results, which is of increased importance in automated systems. On the one hand, the results and any information explaining their classification needs to be shared with other Monitoring- and SIEM-Systems (Security and Information Management) in a structured format (Indicator of Compromise). On the other, they need to be communicated to human Security Analysts, who perform manual analysis and need to react to malicious behaviour. This necessitates proper visualization of all relevant information.

Project Partners

Open Source. Open Solutions. Open Strategies. The mission of the Bremen-based IT system integrator and software house is to provide, optimize, secure and support innovative open source software solutions. Among the main priorities are security applications and monitoring systems, which can be implemented and continuously developed in customer centred projects using various products (SIEM systems, IDS, firewalls, VPN, Nagios, etc.). In addition to providing consulting, system management and software development, research projects are conducted in association with both national and international partners.

rt-solutions.de GmbH is a consulting firm which was founded in 2000 by scientists and entrepreneurs with the goal of realising performant and secure IT processes and infrastructures as a basis for effective business processes. rt-solutions.de provides consulting to leading international businesses in all questions regarding information security and data privacy. The core business of the firm are developing and operating security management systems and technological security measures, as well as auditing complex IT environments and conducting forensic investigations to analyse and solve security breaches.

The research group Trust@HsH has been operating in the areas of trusted computing, network security and mobile security since 2006. Various BMBF-funded research projects were conducted within these areas, like tNAC, ESUKOM, VisITMeta and SIMU. Members of the research group present their results on national and international conferences and workshops, while also actively participating as liaison members in the specification processes of the Trusted Computing Group, a worldwide consortium of major IT companies ans research institutions, with the purpose of introducing internationally recognized standards in the area of IT security.

Associated Partners

Plate Büromaterial Vertriebs GmbH

The Plate Büromaterial Vertreibs GmbH consists of an association of companies, located in Bremerhaven, Isernhagen, Brandenburg, Magdeburg, Dessau, Leipzig, Duisburg, Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Freiburg, Ratingen and Gütersloh. Today the group employs over 300 people and sells about 100 mio. EUR worth of “everything good for the office” annually.

hanseWasser Bremen GmbH

The sewage company hanseWasser Bremen GmbH of about 400 employees operates the 2,300 kilometre long sewer network beneath Bremen, while securing a cost effective and environmentally sensitive purification process in two water treatment plants, located in Seehausen and Farge, for about 50 mio. Cubic metres of sewage per year from Bremen, neighbouring communities, as well as industrial and business customers.

Conference entries and presentations

Project meetings, telephone conferences and other important dates

21.10.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
07.10.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
23.09.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
09.09.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
26.08.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
19.08.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
12.08.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the developers regarding the high-level architecture
12.08.19 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on AP0 and AP1
30.07.2019 Hannover Second project meeting in Hannover
15.07.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
01.07.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
17.06.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
27.05.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
26.05.2019 Bremen Workshop at the associated partner hanseWasser
21.05.2019 Bremen Open Source Business Day at the Bremen Chamber of Commerce
13.05.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
29.04.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
15.04.2019 Bremen Telephone conference with the partners regarding the work on the AP0-reports
04.04.2019 Bremen Kick-off meeting at DECOIT® GmbH
01.04.2019 Bremen Official BMWi start date for the GLACIER project

Do you have questions regarding our product?

Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * gekennzeichnet.

Funded through:

BMBF
Copyright 2019 GLACIER--Konsortium 2019. All Rights Reserved.
It will load necessary cookies, Google Fonts, Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Youtube and Google Analytics. More details in our privacy policy and our imprint.

Support

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet:

24h / 365days

We offer support for our customers

Mon - Fri 8:00am - 5:00pm (GMT +1)

Get in touch

Cybersteel Inc.
376-293 City Road, Suite 600
San Francisco, CA 94102

Have any questions?
+44 1234 567 890

Drop us a line
info@yourdomain.com

About us

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit.

Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec.

PROJEKT

Angriffserkennung durch multidimensionale Analyse sicherheitsrelevanter Datenströme

Die Geschäftsprozesse und somit auch der wirtschaftliche Erfolg der meisten Unternehmen hängen in immer stärkerem Maße von IT-Systemen ab, deren Sicherheit eine zunehmende Herausforderung darstellt. Auf der einen Seite bietet die fortschreitende Vernetzung mit Kunden und Zulieferern neue Möglichkeiten für effiziente Prozessabläufe, erzeugt aber auch komplexe Abhängigkeiten und Angriffsvektoren. Auf der anderen Seite stehen hochprofessionelle, finanziell motivierte Angreifer mit ausgereiften Verwertungsketten, die Unternehmen mit unterschiedlichen kriminellen Methoden bedrohen. 

Auch die zunehmende Integration von klassischer IT und Produktions- und Steuersystemen (Operational Technology, OT) erzeugt ganz neue Risiken. Neben klassischen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen wie Firewalls und Malware-Schutz gewinnen Logging- und Monitoring zunehmend an Bedeutung, da jedes Unternehmen davon ausgehen muss, dass professionelle Angreifer

  1. den Perimeter-Schutz überwinden werden und
  2. der eingesetzte Schadcode nicht zuverlässig erkannt wird.

Das Eindringen kann dann nur durch ungewöhnliches System- oder Applikationsverhalten sowie anomale Netzwerkkommunikation erkannt werden. Die Erkennung setzt typischerweise aber auch voraus, dass die Daten unterschiedlicher Systeme in einem Analysesystem aggregiert und korreliert werden. Dabei ergeben sich durch die großen Datenmengen besondere Herausforderungen. Mit der schlechten Verfügbarkeit von aktuellen Testdatensätzen können neue Lösungen nicht übergreifend evaluiert werden, wodurch der Vergleich von Algorithmen und Produkten massiv erschwert wird.

In der aktuellen IT-Landschaft werden bereits viele verschiedene Werkzeuge zum Erkennen von Angriffen, Schwachstellen und ungewolltem Verhalten auf Computersystemen und Netzwerken eingesetzt. Bei Signatur-basierten Methoden wird negatives Verhalten modelliert und gesucht. Anomalie-basierte Verfahren hingegen beschreiben das Normalverhalten und versuchen Unstimmigkeiten festzustellen – unter der Annahme, dass nicht normales Verhalten potentiell ungewollt ist. Die Struktur der zugrundeliegenden Daten zur Beschreibung des Normalverhaltens muss allerdings bislang a-priori, also vor dem Zeitpunkt eines Angriffs, festgelegt werden. Dies umfasst auch potenzielle Aggregationen. Daher lassen sich nur Anomalien erkennen, die in der festgelegten Sicht auf die Daten ausgeprägt sind. In anderen Aggregationsebenen auftretende Anomalien können nicht erkannt werden.

Gegenstand des Vorhabens ist deshalb die Entwicklung von fortgeschrittenen Konzepten zur automatischen Aggregation und Analyse sicherheitsrelevanter Netzwerkdaten. Durch die automatisierte Aggregation und Analyse wird nicht nur eine Anomalie erkannt, es wird auch die Sicht auf die Daten (Aggregationsebene), die das Fehlverhalten beschreibt, direkt aufgezeigt. Eine manuelle Beschreibung der Aggregation für jede Dimensionskombination entfällt, wodurch die Konfiguration des Systems entscheidend erleichtert wird.

Besondere Bedeutung kommt der automatischen und effizienten Verarbeitung zu, die auch mit regulärer Hardware zu bewältigen ist, bzw. mittels horizontaler Skalierung ermöglicht werden muss. Speziell im Rahmen dieser gesteigerten Automatisierung der Auswertungsprozesse bekommt auch die Interpretation der Ergebnisse eine erhöhte Relevanz. Zum einen sollten Ergebnisse und deren Entscheidungsgrundlage auf Basis einer formalisierten Beschreibung (Indicator of Compromise) mit anderen Monitoring- und SIEM-Systemen (Security Information and Event Management) geteilt werden. Zum anderen muss für die Unterstützung manueller Analyseprozesse die Nachvollziehbarkeit durch einen menschlichen Security-Analysten gewährleistet werden, um angemessene Maßnahmen ergreifen zu können. Hierfür sind Konzepte einer geeigneten Visualisierung relevanter Informationen von zentraler Bedeutung.

Projektpartner

Open Source. Open Solutions. Open Strategies. Mission des Bremer IT-Systemintegrators und Softwarehauses ist die Bereitstellung, Optimierung, Absicherung und der Support von technischer IT-Infrastruktur sowie die Entwicklung kundenorientierter und innovativer Open-Source-Software-Lösungen. Ein Schwerpunktthema stellen Sicherheitsanwendungen und Monitoring-Systeme dar, die mittels unterschiedlicher Produkte (IDS, SIEM, Firewalls, VPN, Nagios etc.) in Kundenprojekten umgesetzt und weiterentwickelt werden. Neben den Bereichen Consulting, Systemmanagement und Softwareentwicklung werden auch Forschungsprojekte mit nationalen und internationalen Partnern abgewickelt.

Die rt-solutions.de GmbH ist ein Beratungsunternehmen, das im Jahr 2000 von Wissenschaftlern und Unternehmern mit dem Ziel gegründet wurde, leistungsfähige, sichere IT-Prozesse und -Infrastrukturen als Basis für effektive Unternehmensprozesse zu realisieren. rt-solutions.de berät führende internationale Unternehmen zu allen Fragen der Informationssicherheit und des Datenschutzes. Das Kerngeschäft der Firma sind die Entwicklung und der operative Betrieb von Security-Management-Systemen und technischen Sicherheitsmaßnahmen sowie die Auditierung komplexer IT-Umgebungen und Durchführung forensischer Untersuchungen zur Analyse und Aufklärung von Sicherheitsvorfällen.

Die Forschungsgruppe Trust@HsH ist seit dem Jahre 2006 im Bereich von Trusted Computing, Netzwerksicherheit und mobiler Sicherheit tätig. Innerhalb dieser Themengebiete wurden verschiedene durch das BMBF geförderte Forschungsprojekte wie tNAC, ESUKOM, VisITMeta und SIMU durchgeführt. Die Mitglieder der Forschungsgruppe stellen ihre Ergebnisse auf nationalen und internationalen Konferenzen und Workshops vor und beteiligen sich außerdem als Liaison Member aktiv an Spezifikations-Prozessen der Trusted Computing Group, einem Konsortium aus wichtigen Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen der IT weltweit, das international anerkannte Standards im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit schafft.

Assoziierte Partner

Plate Büromaterial Vertriebs GmbH

Die Plate Büromaterial Vertriebs GmbH besteht aus einem Firmenverbund, dem die Standorte Bremerhaven, Isernhagen, Brandenburg, Magdeburg, Dessau, Leipzig, Duisburg, Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Freiburg, Ratingen und Gütersloh angehören. Die Firmengruppe beschäftigt heute über 300 Mitarbeiter, verkauft im Jahr für ca. 100 Millionen EUR "Alles gute für das Büro".

hanseWasser Bremen GmbH

Das Abwasserunternehmen hanseWasser Bremen GmbH betreibt mit rund 400 MitarbeiterInnen das 2.300 Kilometer lange Bremer Kanalnetz und sichert auf zwei Kläranlagen in Seehausen und Farge einen wirtschaftlichen und umweltgerechten Reinigungsprozess für jährlich rund 50 Millionen Kubikmeter Abwasser aus Bremen, den Nachbargemeinden sowie für Industrie- und Gewerbekunden.

NEWS

Neuigkeiten aus dem GLACIER-Projekt

Zweites Projekttreffen von GLACIER fand Ende Juli in Hannover statt

Das noch recht junge BMBF-Projekt GLACIER traf sich am 30. Juli bei dem Forschungspartner Hochschule Hannover, um die erreichten Ergebnisse aus den ersten Arbeitspaketen zu besprechen.

Erster Open Source Business Day in der Bremer Handelskammer

Am 21. Mai fand in der Handelskammer Bremen zum ersten Mal der Open Source Business Day statt, der von der Open Source Business Alliance (OSBA) initiiert und von der DECOIT® GmbH organisiert wurde.

Kick-off-Meeting am 4. April 2019 in Bremen

Anfang April startete das neue Forschungsprojekt GLACIER mit dem Langtitel „Angriffserkennung durch multidimensionale Analyse sicherheitsrelevanter Datenströme“ bei der DECOIT® GmbH in Bremen.

Konferenzbeiträge und Präsentationen

Projekttreffen, Telefonkonferenzen und andere wichtige Termine

26.08.19 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner zu Arbeiten an den AP0-Berichten
19.08.19 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner zu Arbeiten an den AP0-Berichten
12.08.19 Bremen Entwickler-Telko der Partner bzgl. High-Level-Architektur-Absprache
12.08.19 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0 und AP1
30.07.2019 Hannover Zweites Projekttreffen in Hannover
15.07.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
01.07.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
17.06.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
27.05.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
26.05.2019 Bremen Workshop beim assoziierten Partner hanseWasser
21.05.2019 Bremen Open Source Business Day in der Bremer Handelskammer
13.05.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
29.04.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
15.04.2019 Bremen Telefonkonferenz der Partner bzgl. der Arbeiten am AP0
04.04.2019 Bremen Kick-off-Meeting des GLACIER-Projekts in den Räumen der DECOIT GmbH
01.04.2019 Bremen Offizieller Starttermin des Projektes GLACIER durch das BMWi

Haben Sie Fragen zum Projekt?

Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * gekennzeichnet.

Gefördert durch:

BMBF
Copyright 2019 GLACIER--Konsortium 2019. All Rights Reserved.
Es werden notwendige Cookies, Google Fonts, Google Maps, OpenStreetMap, Youtube und Google Analytics geladen. Details finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung und unserem Impressum.